Indiana’s Tobacco 21 Law Is in Effect
Indiana’s Tobacco 21 law went into effect today, July 1, 2020. The new law encompasses all tobacco products including non-combustible tobacco products, e-cigarette devices and e-liquid.
Tobacco 21 Overview
- Minimum legal sale age increased from 18 to 21;
- Includes cigarettes, non-combustible tobacco products including refillable e-liquid and other combustible tobacco products;
- Requires updated signage for tobacco vending machines, stores and point of sales (links to required signs below);
- Age of requesting photo identification increased from appearance of 27 to 30;
- Tobacco and vaping shops cannot be located within 1000 ft. of public schools, increased from 200 ft.;
- Clubs and fraternal clubs with designated smoking rooms must prohibit individuals under the age of 21 from entering their smoking room;
- Tobacco shops must prohibit anyone under the age of 21 from entering, including employees;
- Forbids sale of products containing Vitamin E Acetate;
- Increased criminal penalties;
- Class C Misdemeanor for underage possession, use, or purchase
- Retail penalties based on previous 1 year:
- 0 previous citations: $400
- 1 previous citation: $800
- 2 previous citations: $1400
- 3 or more citations: $2000
- Class B Misdemeanor for 6 or more retail citations in 1 year.
If you have any questions, please contact the Bose McKinney & Evans Hospitality and Alcoholic Beverage Law team.